Follow us on Twitter


The Wales Media Awards are judged by senior and respected journalists who are completely independent of the Awards organisers and the Journalists’ Charity.

The organisers would like to extend their grateful thanks to all of them for their time and commitment.



Jonathan Grun Emeritus editor, Press Association


Aled Glynne Davies manager and director, Goriad Cyfyngedig

Charlotte Nicol BBC Five Live, BBC TV and ITV sports producer & broadcaster

Chris Boffey Journalists' Charity treasurer, former Observer news editor

Chris Dennis sports broadcaster, BBC Radio, 5 Live, BBC TV

Dafydd Rees head of television, Bloomberg, Europe, Mid East & Asia

Dan Mason internet media specialist

David Banks media law specialist

David Thomas broadcaster & trainer

Dominic Ponsford editor, Press Gazette

Elis Owen former national director, ITV Wales, head of commissioning, BBC Cymru

Emma Hoskyn news editor, ITN

Emma Meese Centre for Community Journalism, Cardiff University

Garffild Lloyd Lewis S4C director of relocation & projects

Gillian James business travel writer, former FT journalist

Glyn Mathias political journalist & broadcaster

Graham Miller former ITN senior correspondent, producer & media consultant

Gwenno Ffrancon head of department Hywel Teifi, Swansea University

Jill Palmer former medical correspondent, Daily Mirror

John Hunter BBC producer/director

John Williams former head of communications, WRU, former head of news, ITV Wales

Keith Harrison editor, Express & Star

Kim Sengupta defence & diplomatic correspondent, The Independent 

Laura Watts - Watts Where Media, broadcaster & producer, Red Dragon, BBC Sport

Mark Southgate former managing director ITV Meridian, consultant

Mary Price broadcaster and media trainer

Michael Watson former chief sub, Press Association

Nadene Ghouri freelance journalist and writer, former BBC & Al Jazeera

Nigel Bunyan freelance, former Daily Telegraph Northern correspondent

Non Williams lecturer in digital media, Swansea University

Paul Horrocks former editor-in-chief, Manchester Evening News, consultant

Richard Savill former Ireland & West of England correspondent, Daily Telegraph

Shirley Lewis broadcast journalism lecturer, former Sky News Northern office Bureau Chief

Steve Phillips former picture editor, South Wales Evening Post, chief examiner NCTJ photo board

Tom Clarke former sports editor, London Evening Standard, Daily Mail & The Times

Tom Hunter manager, National Broadcasting School

For details on each category and their criteria, please click here.
Entries can be only be submitted from this website – please click here to enter.
Good luck!

Follow us on Twitter @W_M_A, or if you have any immediate questions, please email
The Journalists’ Charity is the working name of the Newspaper Press Fund and is a registered charity in England and Wales (208215) and Scotland (SC042405)

© 2017 Wales Media Awards | Built by Spencer David