Follow us on Twitter
“Freedom of speech is not only the boon but the basis of democracy –
not only the gift but the guarantee of liberty and security –
not only the privilege but the protection of a free people.”
William Randolph Hearst

The Wales Media Awards 2017 are open for entries!

Free to enter, the Awards will celebrate and promote great journalism in Wales - work produced in Wales, for an audience in Wales, by journalists, photographers and camera operators.

The judges will be looking for entries in English or Welsh which are compelling, revelatory, in the public interest, informative, exclusive, or entertaining.

They will take into account the level of journalistic skill, professionalism and effort employed to bring new information to light, or the efforts (ethically and legally) the journalist has taken to bring their story to life.

The Awards are organised by Spencer David with the generous support of a range of sponsors and partners on behalf of the Journalists’ Charity in Wales, the leading charity for all journalists in need, which helps them and their dependents with advice, grants and other forms of financial assistance.

They will be presented at a prestigious Awards Ceremony on 31 March 2017 hosted by broadcaster Dermot Murnaghan at a gala black tie evening at the Mercure Holland House Hotel, Cardiff.

The Wales Media Awards 2016

The Wales Media Awards categories are:

Business Journalist of the Year Newspaper of the Year (Daily/Sunday)
Camera Operator of the Year
Newspaper of the Year (Weekly)
Independent Community News Service of the Year
Political Journalist of the Year
Feature Writer of the Year
Radio News & Current Affairs Programme of the Year
News Photographer of the Year Scoop of the Year
News Reporter of the Year (Online) Sports Journalist of the Year
News Reporter of the Year (Print) Student Journalist of the Year
News Reporter of the Year (Radio) TV News & Current Affairs Programme of the Year
News Reporter of the Year (TV) Young Journalist of the Year
News Website of the Year

Awards will also be made by the judges for Journalist of the Year and for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism, and cannot be entered.

Awards open for entries
 5 October 2016
Closing date for entries
5pm on Monday 7 November 2016
Eligible work
Anything published or broadcast between 1 October 2015 and 30 September 2016
To be announced in February 2017
Eligible work – students only
Anything published or broadcast between 1 March 2015 and 31 July 2016
Awards Evening Tickets
Available February 2017

Gala Awards Evening
Friday 31 March, 2017, Mercure Holland House Hotel, Cardiff


What they said about the 2016 Awards…

Wales can be proud of its brilliant journalists and robust, ethical journalism is a force for good. Every day journalists in Wales represent the interests of citizens and reveal stories that are in the public interest. These awards give us an opportunity to celebrate the work of stars and unsung heroes.

Jonathan Grun, chair of judges

Click here to hear Jonathan talking about the Awards and what judges will be looking for.


It was an incredibly proud night for me and the Cambrian News. To win as a reporter for a weekly newspaper competing against journalists from national and daily publications across the country was an honour I never thought I would receive.

I know there are many talented journalists across Wales who serve their communities, both large and small, with just as much passion, pride, and dedication. I would encourage those journalists who are rightly proud of the work they produce to enter the Wales Media Awards 2017.

Chris Betteley, reporter, Cambrian News
Print News Reporter of the Year, Political Journalist of the Year and Journalist of the Year 2016


Richard Gurner
Editor, Caerphilly Observer

Independent Community News Service of the Year 2015 and 2016 and Scoop of the Year 2015.

Click here to hear Richard talking about what the Observer winning the Awards meant to him.



The awards were a wonderful evening, spent in the company of so many great journalists from across Wales. And having handed out so many awards over the years, it was a great feeling to actually win something myself for a change!

As a profession we can be cynical, and rightly so at times, but these awards are all about celebrating the very best in our great industry. But you 'have to be in it to win it', so get your nominations in now for the 2017 Awards.

Sion Barry, Business Editor, Western Mail
Business Journalist of the Year 2016

For details on each category and their criteria, please click here.
Entries can be only be submitted from this website – please click here to enter.
Good luck!

Follow us on Twitter @W_M_A, or if you have any immediate questions, please email
The Journalists’ Charity is the working name of the Newspaper Press Fund and is a registered charity in England and Wales (208215) and Scotland (SC042405)

© 2016 Wales Media Awards | Built by Spencer David